FreeFALLing!

Standard

Hello, dear Reader!

It is fall–my favorite time of year! 🙂 Although I have been slightly perturbed by the continual 90-degree temperatures of Austin, Texas, I have found ways to welcome this special season!

Step One: Visit Ikea. I probably should have visited Ikea years ago, but the closest store was three and a half hours away in Charlotte, NC, and I just never made it there. So last Saturday, we headed out in the morning to try and beat the traffic and were shocked and awed at its monstrosity. Ikea is a beast of a store. We spent several hours winding through the display rooms, narrowing down our choices for purchase and walked out heavy-handed with several jewels, including the Chicken Caesar Salad and Curried Lentil Soup in my belly. (By the way: there was a special running where if you ate at the Ikea cafe, then they’d deduct that food purchase from your store bill–say what?!) So, here’s a peak at what we’ve purchased:

Ikea Lamp and Armchair

TV Stand from Ikea, found in the "As-Is" Section for $130

 

New Blue Idea Cross-Hatch Duvet

Yep, things are shaping up here in the Donham residence. Thanks Ikea!

Step Two: Buy a moped. Since Erik will be starting school at UT next fall, we’ve been discussing whether or not to invest in nice road bikes or a moped. Well, moped ruled over bikes. Here’s mainly why: UT is just far enough from our apartment that Erik probably would not want to ride every day to and fro. Austin is very hilly and parking sucks, so the moped won. It’s pretty cool–I must say. I’ve already taken “el gato negro” for a spin around the block, and it really gets your adrenaline pumping. Our little guy only goes about 30-32 mph, but, once we put a longer pipe on it, it will top towards 40 mph. Sweet!

El Gato Negro

Step Three: Go to an outdoor, homegrown Shakespeare play. On Saturday, I was researching UT’s performance (Actors from the London Stage: The Tempest) found out it was sold-out, and then found a diamond in the rough: Present Company’s A Winter’s Tale at Rain Lily Farm on Shady Lane just outside I-35 near the airport. The performance is BYOB/BYOF, and it’s encouraged to picnic before the show. There’s port-o-potties and even food and drink available for purchase as well. The entire set-up is so fairytale-like and, well, cool! I wish I had pictures, but, unfortunately, I left my camera at home… 😦 If you’re in the Austin area, looking for a new adventure, go see Present Company’s show! Oh, and, bonus: it’s donations only! 🙂

Step Four: Bake pumpkin bread. Erik actually did the baking. Man, oh man, how just the taste of pumpkin in your mouth places your body and mind into a warm, autumnal state!

Step Five: Buy Yankee Candle’s fall scents like “Autumn Rain.” I don’t really need to say anything more here.

In addition to making adjustments to the seasons, we’ve been busy checking out several places around town like Red’s Front Porch and Freddie’s for washers and happy time food and beverages; Hopdoddy’s (where I had the delish Greek Burger [lamb patty] for $8!); Sprouts, a natural foods grocery store; and Azul Tequila (margaritas and apps). These estalishments were all impressive, and I recommend you to visit sometime!

I am so wiped out. I have sleepy eyes. Therefore, I am going to sleep in preparation for a busy week of middle school teaching! Interims go out this week, which means a push on grading and parent contacts! Wish me luck!

Oh, almost forgot to mention our weekend guest, Russell! Our neighbors went out of town for a wedding in Vegas, so we got to house a sweet rescued pit-bull!

RUSSELL!!!

Question: What artsy fartsy events do you participate in your community? If you haven’t, you should check ’em out! Support your local businesses!

 

 

 

 

About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

