Dolor de Espalda

Standard

Somehow, someway, it happened. I pulled my rhomboid muscle in my back. The pull was so intense that I’ve suffered every day since… Saturday. Tuesday of this week, I didn’t go to school because of el dolor. How could I expect the best from my kids if I couldn’t give them mine? To illustrate, imagine splitting your back in two, keeping one half and borrowing the other half piece from another human. The experience is, quite frankly, freaky, and I don’t recommend it. Who knew that my back was at war with itself? The ibuprofen pills that I pop come and go like clockwork; I’m pretty meticulous about when I take them. Besides, the pain begins creeping in like some sadistic alarm clock, so I always know even if I’m not checking the time. Here’s the rhomboid muscle:

Como se dice, "OUCH!"

The good part about this whole ordeal: Erik gives great back massages and does dinner prep for me! 🙂 Awesome!

Beyond the news headline above, I wanted to get out the word on the Mexican Chili recipe that I promised to try. Two words: great success! However much it ails me to give credit to the chef, I’m going to anyway. Let me preface that her obnoxious voice and awkward quirkiness drove me nuts for many years, but, alas, the food doesn’t lie. This recipe belongs to Rachael Ray! The true name is Turkey Chipotle Chili (with Jack Cheese Corn Toppers), but I didn’t mess with the toppers since I already had tortilla chips at home. I love soup. Chili falls into that category in my head, so, before cooking, I was a tiny bit skeptical. The adobo chiles and the Mexican beer flavors really bring that extra kick, making this chili recipe unique and a definite keeper! Try it yourself, and let me know how it goes!

Well, it’s off to bed for me as I have a loaded schedule tomorrow: grade level meeting, teaching, lunch, more teaching, and I-team’s second home game! Wish my volleyball girls some luck tomorrow! Check back this weekend as I’m sure to have some updates on ACL music festival (although we don’t have tickets, we are still trying to hear some Coldplay, Stevie Wonder, My Morning Jacket, Arcade Fire, or any of the other amazing musicians at Zilker).

Before I forget, if you want to help out the Bastrop wildfire victims, go to KVUE to gather credible charitable sources. The most recent news that I’ve heard is that the displaced families need giftcards! Bastrop is crazy changed, and I cannot even imagine what those folks are going through…

Until then:

Practice Kindness & Courtesy.

About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

