“So, you like football, right?”

Standard

Happy Football Saturday, dear Reader!

Erik and I have spent the ENTIRE day watching college football per the fall season norm. Today, we watched the VT Hokies destroy our Appalachian State Mountaineers… we were very depressed by the end of it all. We also watched UNC play JMU, and, now, we’re watching the Carolina Gamecocks vs. ECU game. This last one has been a pretty crazy one. Turnovers (by USC), oh my! Man, I ❤ football!

To “kick off” Labor Day weekend, I decided to dish up a true Southern meal. On the menu was Slow-Cooked BBQ Pork Ribs, Boiled Corn-on-the-Cob, Homemade Red Potato Salad (my mom’s recipe), and Texmati Long-Grain White Rice seasoned with cooked shallots, green bell pepper, a bay leaf, and a rosemary sprig (from my bush on the patio)!

These BBQ Ribs are by far my best work yet! I slow-cooked them in my extra-large electric crockpot for 8 HOURS today. The dry rub I used included the following seasonings: McCormick’s Smokehouse Apple, garlic powder, cayenne powder, chili powder, and S&P. Then, I used Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Barbeque sauce and blended it with plain ol’ apple cider vinegar until the sauce could wisk fairly easily. I poured the sauce all over those ribs and turned it on low for those glorious eight hours. The apartment smelled delicious! Close to dinner time, Erik and I were basically chewing the air of sweet, sweet BBQ flavors. My mom’s potato salad is pretty basic but is a keeper! I’ve never really known the exact measurements but basically: I boil the diced red potatoes and 2 eggs first. Then, in a large mixing bowl, I add mayonnaise (typically, Duke’s, but I’ve had to resort to Hellman’s here in Tejas), mustard, sweet pickled relish, paprika, and S&P. I like my potato salad cold, so I make this a few hours ahead of meal time. It’s the PERFECT football dinner! Let’s just say we are going to sleep very well tonight…

By the way, last night, Erik met me in Drippin’ to attend the home-opener high school football game. I heard from several teachers that the catfish plate put on by the PTA was a “must-try,” so we ate before the game right next to the field. Oh, and the catfish was perfectly fried and seasoned–glad I got it! All of my middle school students came by to meet my husband and say hello. It was really cute and funny that they were so excited to see my outside of the classroom! I was famous! After the halftime show, Erik and I called it quits. After all, how exciting can high school football really be? (Sorry, HS fans!) We went home, and I showered to head to Emo’s (on 6th and Red River) to meet our Raleigh friends for the Active Child show. We got there just in time to here his set, and, afterwards, we got to converse with Active Child himself and the bandmates. Fun times! It was really nice to get out, listen to music, and socialize!

Well, I just couldn’t wait to tell you about those ribs, so I hope you go out and try ’em yourself. Let me know how they turn out! I’m going to continue to sip on my Deep Eddy Strawberry Lemonade and enjoy the rest of my evening (probably watching the last Thursday’s Project Runway episode)!

Hope you’re enjoying your Labor Day weekend? What are y’all doing?!

 

About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

