Mt. Bonnell & Polvo’s

Standard

Good evening, dear Reader!

I thought I’d catch you up to speed on our weekend and what’s new. First of all, I am finally feeling at home in my classroom. I have over 120+ seventh graders, and they are all eerily sweet and rambunctious! My schedule is as follows this year:

1st period: Girls’ Athletics

2nd period: Conference/Planning

3rd period: ELA

4th period: ELA

5th period: ELA (inclusion)

6th period: ELA (inclusion)

7th period: CATS/Homeroom

8th period: ELA, Pre-AP

And, here’s a photo of Ms. D’s room:

Classroom

Ms. Donham's Room!

I really, really love what I’m doing at this new school with these kids! 🙂

So, on Friday night, Erik and I pushed up our sleeves and got down and Italian by making this homemade lasagna recipe that I’ve sort of made up and stolen ideas from others. Basically, you need the following:

whole wheat lasagna (healthier option)
one big can of crushed tomatoes (from Italy, preferably, look on the back of the can!)
fresh basil
fresh spinach
fresh baby bella mushrooms
fresh scallions
fresh garlic, minced
fresh Italian sausage (hot or mild–I like hot)
dried oregano
dried Herbs de Provence (if you have it…)
mixture of parmesan (about 1/4 parts), mozzarella (about 1/2 parts), and ricotta cheese (1 part) with one egg

I blend all dried spices and meat into crushed tomatoes in a mixing bowl as well as the cheeses in a separate mixing bowl. I layer in the following order: sauce, noodles, sauce, cheese, noodles, sauce, veggies, cheese, noodles, cheese. Then, I bake at 350 degrees for about 30-45 minutes covered in tin foil, then last 5-10 minutes without to get that bubbly brown cheese. Bon apetito! It’s sooooo good that I’ve been eating on it since Friday night and haven’t gotten tired of it yet! Try it!

So, after this filling meal, Erik and I thought it’d be a good idea to head over to double-circle pool for an evening swim (with el vino en mano) to cool down and unwind.

Pool

Double Circle Pool!

After hitting the hay pretty late, we slept in on Saturday then ventured off into the city. Our trip didn’t last very long since it was 110 degrees outside, but we managed to sneak a visit to Mt. Bonnell, one of Austin’s ah-mazing views of the cityscape and Lady Bird Lake (technically, Lake Austin). The hike up was less than 5 minutes and was easily accessible with parking out front as well as historical blocks, detailing the background of this lovely place. The houses (or should I say, mansions?) here were beautiful! One of these days…

Mt.Bonnell
Austin

Austin!

Mt. Bonnell!

Finally, we went out for some Tex-Mex at Polvo’s  on South First with our Raleigh friends. Polvo’s was delicious and met all the rave reviews I’d heard. I had the ground beef Enchiladas de la Casa. Erik had the homemade tamales. We both had frozen ritas, which ended up being on the rocks because of the heat! Oh, well! Funny story: our waiter was from Monroe, NC! What are the odds?!

mt.bonnell2

Sunday was domestic, lounge-around-the-house day. Cleaning, laundry folding, sweeping, and planting my plant pets were among the things-to-do list. We visited The Great Outdoors Nursery on South Congress (expansive selection of all things garden-y!) and came home proud parents of a rosemary bush, four succulent plants, a flower that attracts butterflies, and a snake plant and small flower/plant (for indoor decor). I’m ecstatic about having a little more green around!

Well, this has been one long Monday, and I’m drained of all energy. Tomorrow, I will be giving a BOY (Beginning of Year Assessment) to my kids to see where they are in ELA. Let’s hope that I don’t have to backtrack and re-teach a lot of standards!

Good night! Something to ponder: Where’s the best view in your hometown or city located?

About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

