Heaven must be missing a… San Marcos Tanger Outlet Center

Standard

Hello, dear Reader!

Apologies for my blogosphere absence. Last week, I was super busy in staff development training and setting up my new classroom digs. Things are coming together quite nicely at my new school home. (I will be adding photos of my room soon, along with some “first week” stories.) But, first, let’s talk about this past weekend!

I picked up this romper from Target (on sale for $8!):

Target Romper

❤ Target!

On Friday night, Erik and I were not feeling amped to go out or do anything that required a lot of energy, so we decided to play a round of mini-golf at the famous Austin establishment, Peter Pan Mini Golf. Surprisingly, it was a great time. I was exhausted from the crazy week of work and meetings, so a round of mini-golf was the perfect way to unwind and build energy for Saturday’s heavenly treat…

I love turtles!

On Saturday, I went to outlet heaven a.k.a. the San Marcos and Tanger Outlets. This outlet center was the largest one I’ve ever visited, and I absolutely loved it. I did some minor damage at Banana Republic and was kind of pissed when I realized that there wasn’t just one but TWO Banana Republic stores in the same lot. That’s one sick person who made that decision. I bought one tweed pencil skirt, one blouse, one dressy tank and one regular tank, a pair of shorts, and a dressy, long cardigan. I haven’t gone shopping in a long time, so it was worth it. I love new school clothes. Some noted favorites include: Pottery Barn (with a Williams-Sonoma), Restoration Hardware, Crate & Barrel, New York & Company, Sony, Final Cut (BCBG Max Azria), Ann Taylor LOFT, etc. PLUS, it was tax-free weekend. Score!

Oh, and I almost forgot–before we headed to the outlets, we stopped at the largest Cabela’s I’ve ever seen! Erik and I made a deal that if I did his thing, he’d do mine. Seriously. This Cabela’s means business. It was like going to a mall, but, really, you were in one massive store. There was even a food court! Erik and I split a venison brat and some fries while there because the walking around made us hungry! Even if you aren’t a fan of the outdoors, going to the San Marcos definitely was an experience worth having!

Cabela's

Taxidermied Animals Galore in Cabela's!

Has anyone read Yann Martel's Beatrice and Virgil? You should.

San Marcos, by the way, is about a 30-40 minutes drive south of Austin (off I-35). Because of the 100-degree temperatures that happen every single day, this outlet center and Cabela’s stop was perfect! Thank you, Willis Haviland Carrier for inventing A/C!

Finally, on Sunday, I went to school to tie up some loose ends. You know, being one of those overachiever teachers. Ha! Following that school visit, Erik and I went to help out some fellow Raleighites move their life into a storage unit (they don’t officially move into their place until September 1.) Hooray familiar faces! To celebrate Erik’s new job (yeah that one in the marketing department of a national audio-visual company), we went to Habana’s Cuban Grille where I was sent back to Spain (not as Spain-y as I would have hoped) with their Seafood Paella dish (mussels, clams, crab, tilapia, shrimp, calamari, fried plantains on a bed of Cuban rice mixed with spices). Erik had the typical Cuban sandwich with a side of yuca fries. Everything was perfect (including the mojitos)! Cheers to working hard and finding jobs (within a month of living here)!

Cubano

Buen Provecho!

Now, I’m off to hit-the-sack. Today was the first day of school, and my middle schoolers are just sweethearts! The day was very long, but I am optimistic about this school year and hope all will go well. Teaching is definitely a difficult job, but, for some reason, I enjoy the challenge. So, I’ll end with a photo of “my” building at school, and a question to respond: What was the most influential or eye-opening lesson that you learned from a teacher?

B-Hall

Hello Middle School Land!

About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

3 responses »

    • I literally was mad about it. The funny part is that I REALLY felt the urge to see what the difference was but I made myself not do that… hehe, miss you mama! I tried callin’ you… call me later? Glad you’re alive and well!

  1. Can’t wait to go back and visit the oulet!! You know I HATE to shop- Ha- Mark will love the Cuban restaurant I am sure! Sounds like you’ll are having fun exploring the area!

Leave a Reply

