Shark Week: A Coincidence?

Standard

Hey, folks! It’s Shark Week!

It’s funny how life tends to poke fun at you every once in a while. Erik and I have been battling “the sharks” this week, sending out cover letters, resumes, and job applications into the maelstrom of cyberspace’s tumultuous seas. By the way, my interview on Monday went well; however, I’m sure that the meeting was a simple screening. The principal was not present at the interview, which is a signal that the interview is not THE interview. Alas, I wait and hope for good news on Monday! Job hunting today reminds me of the colonial days when sailors went out to sea to kill whales for their oil. Remember Moby Dick? You spend hours and hours attempting to make every “first impression” resume or cover letter perfect while dealing with the automated application process (nothing is pre-filled) only to receive what in return? An annoying “you’re overqualified” or, worse, nothing, like a tiny drop of whale oil in that gallon canister you have for the journey. I’m just waiting for a little more whale oil… I could go on and on with this rant, but I’m not going–I’m going to take you to Morocco!

Tonight, I took a Moroccan Chicken recipe for a spin. I found this recipe on Food.com (here!) and manipulated the measurements (I only used 2 lbs. of boneless, skinless chicken thighs) and ingredients (omitted the raisins for Erik) a bit:

  • 3 -5 tablespoons oil
  • 2 lbs chicken thighs
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon CURRY POWDER (I couldn’t find my CUMIN!)
  • 1 tablespoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 3 tablespoons honey (or to taste)
  • 2 cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • cooked basmati rice

Morocco in your Mouth!

NOTE: This dish is VERY flavorful! I felt as though I may have teetered on over-seasoning the dish, but Erik thought it was great! Playing around with worldly spices is a lot of fun, so I encourage you (my lovely reader!) to venture out and try something new! When I first started cooking world cuisine, I thought that I would run into a lot of roadblocks because of rare or uncommon ingredients. False! You can find everything you need (most cases) at your local grocery, especially at Whole Foods, Fresh Market, or Trader Joe’s. Here in the 78704, I’ve discovered Sun Harvest organic supermarket, just off South Lamar–a street away from our apartment! It reminds me of Whole Foods but in a smaller, more intimate setting and is wallet-friendly!
As for Austin exploration, last Tuesday, Erik and I went with some new friends to Barton Springs for their last S.O.S. (Save Our Springs Alliance) Summer Series concert, featuring the Minor Mishap Marching Band. What fun! Unfortunately, I did not get pictures as I was too busy acting like a kid and jumping off the diving board into the springs. The water was chilly, but Minor Mishap warmed me up with their poolside energy. After drying off and figuring out exit strategies, we headed over to the Barton Saloon (the corner of South Lamar and Barton Springs). On Tuesday nights, Miller Lite bottles are just a $1! Y’all know I don’t drink beer, so I just sipped on a margarita instead… a bit too tangy for my taste. The place was packed and there was pool, which made Erik and the guys very happy. That’s about it for us Austin explorers for now… No set plans for the weekend yet, but, as always, I will keep you updated!
I’ll end with this little nugget of hilarity! Erik and I found this “Buzz Ball” at the check-out counter of Walgreens. The cashier suggested Pina Colada, so we took  his word for it. This miniature ball-shaped can has 17% alcohol content. The label reads that it is a wine, but I have my doubts. It was pretty awful…

Tropic Chillerz!

Cheers, y’all!
About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

