For the Love of Chocolate!

Standard

Last night, Erik and I ventured off to the Highball, a swanky, high-end bowling alley, restaurant, bar, and concert venue, to see Erin Ivey and the Finest Kind. The occasion? The release of their new album, Broken Gold, and the premiere of their new music video, “Chocolate.” And, goodness gracious, were the vocals and tunes of Erin Ivey and the Finest Kind as sweet, sexy, and smooth as chocolate (and not no milky, cheap chocolate–I’m talkin’ about that dark stuff)!

Before diving into further commentary on EI&tFK, I would be remiss not to mention their opening act, The Copa Kings, a full six-piece band, along with a sultry red-head siren singer, that had me transported back to the days when the Rat Pack made the chocolate on the rim of your chocolate martini melt. Professional, sophisticated, and extremely talented, this big-band band made for a great opening while I sipped on a glass of Goughuenheim Malbec.

Copa Kings at Highball

Back to sweet yet mildly salacious, Erin Livey and the Finest Kind. Their urban folk sound filled the Highball with warmth, cool, and spice. (If that’s even possible! But, I promise, it was!) Here’s a link to the clip of some of the music that you missed out–for FREE! Click here!

Erin Ivey & the Finest Kind

As I worked my eyes through the band’s audience of local commits and new win-overs, I thought to myself that this experience is quintessentially Austin. Live music with no cover in a room filled with such camaraderie and love amongst its inhabitants, band and audience members alike. I’m one lucky gal!

Oh, and I have to share a photo that encapsulates a big difference between Erik and I. Hope y’all are having a great weekend! Who knows what will be doing next in the 78704!

Love my red heels from Lucky Penny (est. in Boone, NC)!

About asmallthingintexas

I am a small thing in big Texas. This blog will detail this big change for my husband, Erik, and I, as well as share new recipes, adventures, and commentary. We are moving from Raleigh, NC, to Austin, TX, in early July and cannot wait to start a new journey together, learning about the history, culture, food, and people of this southwest state. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

